Another Aberdare Win for Talbot Heath Tennis Girls

Another Aberdare Win for Talbot Heath Tennis Girls

7 September 2017

Many congratulations to the two tennis teams who exceeded expectations at the Team Tennis School National Championships in July. The competition consisted of 32 teams who successfully qualified for the event after several months of knockout matches. The A team were pre seeded in second position to Queenswood School. The girls were eager to reclaim the title which they last won in 2014 and they knew it would be an onerous task. Over the four days of play, the A team secured their position with wins against; Pocklington School, Wilmslow High School, Culford School and Queenswood School. The A team fought hard to battle past the defending champions to claim the Girls’ title in a relatively comfortable score of 8-4 in the finals. Well done to; Erin Richardson, Esther Adeshina, Hannah Smith, Abbie Tyler and Leah Gonzales-Edwards.

The B team consisted of a relatively young but highly competitive and able group of players for this U19 competition. The girls drew the fourth seed, Cheam High School, in the first day of play and they fought hard but unfortunately did not win. They worked tirelessly during the next three days of play and they won against: Cokethorpe School and Sevenoaks School which resulted in them finishing in 13th position. Well done to; Kristina Paskauskas, Jess Holloway, Mollie Edge, Romana Bari, Milly Davis and Hazel Vernon.

The girls have won every national title this year: the Year 8 Aegon Team title, the Year 10 Aegon Team title and the Aberdare Cup, making Talbot Heath the number one school for tennis in the UK for the fourth year running.

A huge thank you and congratulations go to the fantastic coaching team at West Hants Club who oversee the tennis aspect of the academy programme and to Talbot Heath sport staff, Chloe Lawrence and Louise Burgan, who accompanied the teams.

Member Zone

Lost your password?
Find a school Login