England netball ace celebrates Monmouth’s sporting triumphs

England netball ace celebrates Monmouth’s sporting triumphs

30 April 2019

An England netball Commonwealth Games gold medallist celebrated the sporting triumphs of students in Monmouth.

Netballer Jodie Gibson, who plays for England and Worcester-based Severn Stars, was the special guest at Monmouth School for Girls’ annual Sports Dinner.

Jodie, who wore her gold medal from last year’s Commonwealth Games triumph in Australia and shared it with the students, was an excellent role model and gave an inspirational speech about her career.

Monmouth School for Girls’ new Headmistress, Mrs Jessica Miles, highlighted the girls’ tremendous support for each other throughout the evening.

Mrs Miles, in her speech, said: “It’s impressive to see the breadth of sport the girls are involved in and, most importantly, the sense that they all support each other and are proud of each other’s achievements.

“Tonight has given me a wonderful flavour of what lies ahead for me in my new role.”

Elinor Hart, an outstanding lacrosse player with the school and for Wales, won the coveted Leonard Salver for Sportswoman of the Year.

Elinor, 17, said: “I was very surprised to win the main award. I thought it would go to someone in Year 13. I was surprised just to receive a nomination, so I am very happy.”

Monmouth School for Girls’ Director of Sport, Miss Lou Scott, organised the lovely evening, which kicked off with superb routines from the senior dancers.

Head of Dance, Miss Rhyan Parry, joined her students on stage for their impressive interpretation of the ABBA hit, Super Trouper.

Guest speaker, Jodie Gibson, said: “It was a wonderful evening and amazing to experience and share the moments of sporting brilliance the girls have achieved.

“The atmosphere was great and this was one of the favourite appearances that I have ever done.”

Multi-sport prizes:

Leonard Salver for Sportswoman of the Year: Elinor Hart.

Sportswoman of the Year finalists: Isabelle Wixcey, Madeleine Taylor, Florence Taylor, Mererid Jones, Catrin Jones.

Waller Shield (Contribution to Sport): Isabelle Wixcey.

Morgans Bowl (unsung hero): Sonia Ambrose.

Parsons-Williams Participation Plate: Scarlett Penn;

Scott Prize (Best newcomer): Ellie Parker.

Zhang-Lui Award (contribution by an overseas student): Jane Wong.

Member Zone

Lost your password?
Find a school Login